Crossing 25

Yesterday, August 1st, I turned 26 years old. (Happy Birthday To Me!!) This was the first birthday that I had in a while where I didn’t have any anxiety, I wasn’t stressed, and I was thinking about a five-year plan. When I turned twenty-five, I was worried about so many things, a lot of them had absolutely nothing to do with me. I remember twenty-five being this thing, as if, a shift was supposed to happen that I had no control over. However, I learned that it was the opposite. I had the utmost control and the potential to make it work to my advantage. Everyone told me that the mid-20s were about finally building; you had to find the right job, the right mate, the right everything. Being the over-thinker that I am, I was worried sick about this. I had one part time job, I had absolutely no love interest, and I felt as if I was behind. Life has this amazing way of humbling you. Life on that 25th hill, taught me three very important things.

 

  1. Patience

I learned that there were things I had to sit out. I couldn’t be everywhere, all the time, whenever. There were events that I would have to miss and opportunities would arise when the time was right. Divine timing is not a joke. There would be people and situations that would enter your life for a reason. A lesson must be taught and you must have the patience to sit through the class. Sometimes, we want to skip over a few steps and it doesn’t work that way. Learning to have patience meant using this time to research, strategize, and practice before I could go to the next step. I had to master some things before I could get there, and having patience helped because I didn’t miss anything that may be beneficial for the future.

  1. Honesty

This doesn’t mean that I was not always an honest person, I tend to be too honest at times, but what I learned about honesty at twenty-five was that it did not apply only to everyone else; it meant honesty with myself as well.  I learned to put the mirror up and truly see myself for who I was; what were my strengths? What were my weaknesses? What was I truly interested in? How did I behave when no one was looking? When I started taking time to assess and understand who I was fully as a person, changes were made. If I didn’t want to do something, I didn’t force myself to do so. If I didn’t like something, I spoke up about it. I stopped hiding myself in fear of how I was perceived, instead I showed up and showed out, this is me. You have the option to take it or leave it. Those who were meant to stay did and those who weren’t, well, I don’t what they’re doing #blockanddelete

  1. Work Ethic

Opportunities may be few and far between, but whether they are there or not, I learned to be on the job anyway. I learned that my work ethic determined how opportunities would present themselves. If I was doing mediocre work, I was getting mediocre rewards. If I was putting in 150%, I was getting 150% in rewards. It didn’t matter if I wasn’t where I wanted to be, how did I behave where I was presently? What made me special? What was I doing that made me different than every other worker? Once I figured that out, I began to apply myself more; I thought different. I planned more efficiently because I had to do my best no matter where I was; if I was a terrible worker in the entry level, I would be terrible on the next level and I didn’t want that.

 

Everyone’s twenties are different; foundations we start out on will be different, how we handle situations will be different, that’s why it is okay if you’re not doing what everyone else is. Sure, I don’t have the ‘right’ job, mate, or a plan set in stone for the next few years, but I have other things. I have the ability to build myself to be prepared for when those things arise. I have the work ethic for the ‘right’ job when the opportunity presents itself (and the ability to create it if it doesn’t). I know who I am with or without anyone else, so I am solid in what I want and/or need from the ‘right’ mate. And I have patience. I used my time of solitude to brainstorm and strategize what I want and/or need years from now.  Comparing how shook I was last year to now, I can’t stop laughing at myself. Twenty-five was not all that scary, don’t believe the hype.

Leave a Reply

